Banana Nut Pancakes—Grain, Dairy and Refined Sugar-Free

Banana pancake 4 mediumI usually find myself in a rut when it comes to breakfast. I feel like I have the same thing over..and over…and over…again. It’s not that I don’t have things I could make, it’s usually that I just want something quick. The morning is when my infant son sleeps the best, so I want to get everything I possibly can done during this time. What I don’t want to be doing is a lot of cooking and dishes, especially since I’m the only one eating breakfast (my husband is already gone to work by this point).

However, when you are on a grain-free diet, quick breakfast ideas can be a bit more tricky. So over the last few weeks, I’ve been toying with different ingredients and came to a pretty simple pancake recipe that I’ve found to be a personal favorite.

I had a few goals in mind with this concoction:

  1. To make it very simple, requiring a minimal amount of ingredients
  2. To make a small serving size (since I’m only fixing it for myself)
  3. To be grain-free, dairy-free and refined sugar-free
  4. To taste great (I mean, really, who wants to eat gross pancakes?)

Surprisingly, I think this pancake recipe hits all of these! The banana and nuts add a nice flavor and help hide the coconut flour taste. It’s also really quick to put together—about five minutes or so. It does make a small serving, about 5-6 small pancakes, so if you are cooking for more than one or two people, go ahead and double the recipe.

Start with mashing a very ripe banana in a small bowl. Once the banana is completely mashed, add one egg. Mix together well.

Banana pancake 1

Next, add the vanilla and baking soda (and optional raw honey) and continue mixing. Once all these have been thoroughly mixed, add one tablespoon of coconut flour then whisk it into the mixture. Continue doing this until you’ve reached three tablespoons.

Banana Pancake 2

The only thing left to add is the nuts. I’ve been using walnuts, but pecans would probably work well too. Mix in a handful of walnuts, more or less based on what you like best. In an oiled skillet (I used coconut oil), dip out a spoonful of batter and lightly flatten with the spoon or a spatula. I recommend keeping to a small size with these pancakes. The coconut flour makes them dense, so they can be hard to flip otherwise. Additionally, you’ll want to cook these on low to medium heat. I’ve found that when I cook on high heat, the pancakes get too brown on the bottom too soon.

Banana Pancake 3

Make up the rest of the batter. These are great with maple syrup, honey, nut butter, fruit or even just plain (yes, I like them that much!)

 

Banana Nut Pancakes (Makes 1-2 servings)

  • 1 very ripe medium banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp raw honey (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons coconut flour
  • walnuts or pecans to taste

Banana pancake 5

Mash the banana in a small bowl and add egg, vanilla, honey and baking soda. Combine well. Whisk in coconut flour (one tablespoon at a time). Stir in nuts. Place a spoonful of batter in a well-oiled skillet, lightly flatten with spoon or spatula and cook over low to medium heat. Continue until all of the batter is gone. Serve with maple syrup, honey, nut butter or fruit.

 

This post was shared at Homestead Barn HopMostly Homemade Mondays, Natural Living Monday, Thank Goodness It’s Monday, What’d You Do This Weekend, Anti-Procrastination TuesdayFat Tuesday, Tuesday Talent Show, Totally Talented Tuesdays, Healthy Tuesday, Naturally Sweet TuesdayAllergy Free Wednesday, Waste Not Want Not, Gluten Free Wednesdays, Real Food Wednesday, Wellness Wednesday, Full Plate ThursdayPennywise Platter, Thank Your Body ThursdayThriving on Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, The HomeAcre Hop, Gluten Free Fridays, Natural Family FridayWhole Food Fridays, Real Food Fridays, Fight Back Friday, Simple Meals Friday, Unprocessed FridaysSavoring Saturdays

13 thoughts on “Banana Nut Pancakes—Grain, Dairy and Refined Sugar-Free

  1. These kind of remind me of banana fritters. I wonder if these would work in a waffle iron also? I have to admit. I am incredibly lazy when it comes to breakfast. The only time I eat breakfast is if I have planned something the night before. Often I cook a big batch so that I only need to reheat and eat it before leaving for work. But then I have to eat the same thing for the rest of the week. Gets old real quick.

  2. Sara, we are going to just love your Banana Nut Pancakes, they look delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

