Grape Slushy

When I think of summer, I think of a lot of things, but one of the top that comes to mind are cold treats. Ice cream, smoothies, snow cones—these are perfect for a really hot day.

I remember when I was little, on certain days during the summer, a white truck with really loud music would slowly chug down the road in our neighborhood. And everyone knew what that meant—SLUSHIES! We would flag the truck down, give him our money and in return, get our choice among the available flavors.

Even if you didn’t have the slushy coming to your doorstep like I did, you still don’t have to go very far to find them. Sporting events, convenience stores…they are everywhere, and especially during this extremely warm season.

But unfortunately, most slushies (like many other cold treats that are out and about) are just not healthy. High fructose corn syrup, sugar and preservatives are a few of the culprits that make these worth skipping. But on a brighter note, slushies are very easy to make at home. As long as you have access to a blender (I think even a food processor would work), then you can whip one of these up in no time.

I chose to make a grape-flavored slushy mainly because grapes are my favorite summer fruit. But you can experiment with other fruits such as watermelon, strawberry, mango or even a fruit combo. Just be sure to adjust the amount of ice (some fruits are more liquidy than others so more or less may be needed).

Grapes (which are actually considered a berry) contain many nutrients and minerals, including Vitamins C, K and A, potassium, iron, copper and manganese. Additionally, they are full of antioxidants, loaded with enzymes and high in water content (which is helpful for hydration). It’s safe to say that these little guys are pretty nutritious.

Even if that doesn’t convince you, I’m pretty sure the pictures will. So without further ado, let me introduce the delicious grape slushy.

Grape Slushy

Grape Slushy 1

Grape Slushy 2

I only have two words of caution: Brain.freeze.

Enjoy!

Grape Slushy
(makes 2 servings)

1 cup red grapes
1/2 cup coconut milk
2 to 2 1/2 cups of ice (roughly 11-12 ice cubes from standard ice tray)

Place grapes and coconut milk in blender and blend until smooth. Add in ice and continue blending to desired consistency.

What’s your favorite summertime fruit?

Sources and further reading on health benefits of grapes:
http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/8-healthy-facts-about-grapes
http://www.livestrong.com/article/509099-nutrition-benefits-of-red-grapes/
http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/271156.php
Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon (p 47)

This post was shared at Homestead Barn Hop, Mostly Homemade Mondays, Natural Living Monday, Thank Goodness It’s Monday, What’d You Do This Weekend, Anti-Procrastination Tuesday, Fat Tuesday, Gluten-Free and DIY Tuesday, Healthy Tuesday, Naturally Sweet TuesdayTotally Talented Tuesdays, AIP Recipe Roundtable, Allergy Free Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Real Food Wednesday, Waste Not Want Not, Wellness Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Thank Your Body Thursday, The HomeAcre Hop, Fight Back Friday, Gluten Free Fridays, Let’s Get Real, Natural Family Friday, Real Food Fridays, Unprocessed Fridays, Savoring Saturdays

12 thoughts on “Grape Slushy

  1. Oh yummy!!! Why didn’t I think of that? I can’t wait to try it out. I’ve been making a strawberry lemonade slushy, or sometimes a strawberry limeade slushy. But I have to try a grape slushy, We all down our slushies around here.

    Blessings,
    Kerri

  2. Hi Sara! I’m stopping over from Let’s Get Real today. I am having a bit of a problem with my sweet treat cravings. It’s not just me………it’s my whole family. I look forward to trying your healthier version of the slushy. It looks so good and I won’t have to feel bad after I eat it. Coconut milk……..need to get some coconut milk.

    • It is super good – and I think regular milk would work well too if you don’t have coconut on hand. This was my first time at Let’s Get Real and I really enjoyed looking through all the recipes. Thanks so much for hosting and stopping by!

  3. I could just reach through this screen and take this slushy, it looks so good! Hope you have a great weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

  4. oh, gosh, this looks fantastic. My children love slushies and this would be such a fun way to have them. Thanks so much for sharing at Simple Lives Thursday!

  5. Pingback: The View From Here: June | Taste and See

Leave a Reply

